Twitter Takeover-Module 3

Takeover

For a class project, I took over the class Twitter account for SUNY Oswego’s Health and Technology class (HSC 230). Throughout the process of this project, I have found ways to improve my own social media account and have read up on many tips to improving my posts. If you’re interested in reading my posts you can also follow my personal twitter account!


Posting Tools and Rockstar Example

For this takeover, most of my tweets were related to the environment and health. I used the Hootsuite App to automate one of my tweets. This app is extremely useful for people who post to their social media multiple times per day but don’t always have time through out the day to post. Using this app you are able to schedule the date and time you want a certain tweet or post to be sent. I followed NY Wellness Guide to get an idea of posting styles. Almost all of their tweets link to different articles which is the approach I used as well. In some of my tweets I used Gifs to make them more attractive to people scrolling by and hopefully grab their attention. I tried to link articles that would be relatable and interesting in hopes to gain more followers, likes and retweets. OutboundEngine also had a few tips in growing your social media. The first was to create a schedule and post regularly. I used this tip with Hootsuite as it allows you to schedule your posts. The next was make the most of visual content i.e. include pictures, links, and gifs. All of my tweets included links with pictures to grab more attention from the people who quickly scroll through their feed. The next tip is to cross promote and link everything. This is a good way to promote all of your accounts at once. For example on your Instagram account, you should have a link to your Facebook and twitter pages and vise versa.

Hootsuite

Twitter Analytics

Using Twitter Analytics, you can view tweet impressions (6,329), profile visits (398), mentions (5) and followers (226). Through my takeover we gained 3 followers and received a direct message from a verified twitter user, John Frye, asking if we could check out his podcast.

Check out my reflection video on my social media takeover below!

Thanks for reading! Check me out on social media!
Youtube, Twitter, instagram and my website! 🙂 Also check out SUNY Oswego’s Health and Technology social media accounts! Instagram, Twitter, & Facebook.

Leave a comment