Emily- Fit Photo-230-Photo-Module 1

I am fairly new to photography. I took one photography class in high school, but haven’t used any of the knowledge since. To be honest, I forgot a lot of the stuff I learned about cameras and photography in general. That’s why I was excited to read about Photzy. This site allows you to take a quiz to understand what type of photographer you are and where you struggle the most. Then the site provides an informational video to help you improve. I learned that exposure is extremely important, and you can test it before taking your photos using your hand. You put your hand in front of the lens, and make sure the lighting on your hand is the same as the lighting of the landscape.

Lake Ontario
I edited this photo using Snapseed, HDR scape mode.

I also read an article and watched a video from a photographer who provides tips on how to get creative using only one light. He mentions how a lot of photographers think they can’t get different shots because they only have one light. In his video, he explains how you can do a lot and get great photos with one light. One of the tips he shared was to move around your subject and get different angles because that can also change the lighting. If you want more of a “pop” to your photo you can also have the sunshine behind the subject.

Another video I watched focused on five short cuts to improving your photos. 1) Less is more, keep it simple. Bring out simplistic aspects of a photo by using different angles to remove clutter in the surrounding area. 2) Use bursts. 3) Get low for portraits. 4) Repeating elements 5) sharp photos and motion blur. Check it out!

Thanks for reading! Check me out on social media!
Youtube, Twitter, instagram, Flickr and my website! 🙂

Leave a comment